Breathe In. Breathe Out.

Its. been such a stressful week for me.  I’ve been feeling all kinds of stomach pains, which are primarily due to stress, or so I think. I’m afraid to eat (and you should know that this is exactly NOT me) because it always makes me feel like I’m suffering from some sort of indigestion.

Good thing we had YOGA in AP Psych last Wednesday… It was like having class while doing something to help you get by the week. Hihi.

boo

Anyway, aside from the fact that I got sick (and was absent) this week as a result of these tummy aches, I think it was a pretty solid week, in terms of class management especially in Grade 10. My poor AP English Lit kids though. We’re going so slow in that class. I’m thinking I need to prepare a dance routine to wake us up. 

Where was I? Oh yeah. Back to Grade 10.

I liked how it felt like Unit 3 was a little bit more organic and unified than the first 2 this quarter.  I switched stories just when I was already about to begin the week simply because I almost fell asleep reading the one prescribed by the book. Perhaps that decision was key because it allowed me to think of more varied activities… I felt like we had a mix of fun and “serious” academic endeavors.

I especially liked how all the texts seemed to revolve around the idea of being “caged” whether by a mental illness, societal standards, or simply personal fears. It allowed (I assume) us to make better connections.

I’m actually surprised at how I felt there was some sort of closure with the focus on symbolism especially since I asked the class to come up with a “Symbolic Fashion Statement”– having to dress their classmates with items that represent a character trait in the beginning of the week.  (See funniest of funniest pictures above, which I wish I could share on FB but wouldn’t dare because Elly and Ben might never speak to me again, but I really, really, really want to because it truly, truly, truly was an awesome job that these kids did.)

Wait. Why do all my paragraphs start with the word “I”? Boo. I’m such a boring writer. Kill me now, please.

Whatever. I’m pretty happy with what I’ve done this week especially because you can never go wrong with Pico Iyer. I am hoping I get at least one student to love him as much as I do.

Breathe In. Breathe Out.

Life.Is.Good.

Leave a Reply

