Ten on the 10th

It’s been a looong while since I’ve taught a “regular” class. I’m both nervous and excited… Primarily, it makes me feel “normal.”  I don’t really know whether that’s a good or a bad thing, but for now, the change of pace may very well do me some good.

I’ve got 10 students for now in 10th grade on what happebs to be the 10th year of the school. Coincidence? Probably. But, who am I to argue with the opportunity to channel ideas like fate and serendipity?

Whatever the rhyme or reason for this “assignment,” I’ll try to put my own spin of things by giving 10 reasons why this is a win-win situation.

Novelty
I’ve been teaching the same subjects for the last 3 years. Thus, I’ve been reading basically the same literary pieces over and over again. Teaching this “new” class will “force” me to tackle new material, which will result in nothing else but improving myself. More importantly, I get to teach “new” faces. I’ll have the chance to start fresh. I’ve had some initial feedback of how these kids are “nervous” about what’ll happen in our class. Hah! We’ll see if it’s merited. *wink*

Numbers
Though our school takes pride in the fact that we have small teacher-student ratios, there are pitfalls to teaching a class with around only 3 students.  The last time I taught a class with 18 kids was in Public Speaking–the best class I’ve ever had, IMO.  There is strength in numbers. We get more ideas, more options, more help, more, more, more.

Eustress
For some strange reason, I’ve always managed better when stressed. Please let this not be a call for more “problems” but an acknowledgment that some people become more “inspired” when they “have” to accomplish things.  Now that I am teaching 3 classes a day, I will surely, surely, surely, be regularly STRESSED. Will this be a good thing? Who knows. No one knows (Lee, 2014).

<<<to be continued>>>

One thought on “Ten on the 10th

Leave a Reply

