Schools as Mini Republics

I find it quite lovely when my dad begins his often daily impassioned speeches about how crazy our government officials are because it gives me a chance to pander to his beliefs that he could do so much better if given the avenue to do so.  I actually giggle as he berates these so called public servants for their audacity to enact laws that are actually products of pur common sense. But, when the conversation becomes a little bit too negative, I try my best to veer him away from the topic by telling him to run for public office.  This usually works. HAH!

Today’s dinner was no different. My dad went on and on again about the proposed plans to alleviate traffic in the Metro.  He explained how other countries have done it successfully and how far off we are from doing the same things.  As I try my earnest efforts to stop him from taking full control of the night’s talking points, I tell him how many of us citizens often complain but never really do our own part to help improve our way of life in our beloved home.

Last Thursday, I likened the school to a mini-republic where the Principal is in many ways the president, the teachers the members of government and the students the citizens.  I wonder how many students think like my dad and feel strongly that they can run the school better than Dr. Santos or any of the teachers can.  I can’t help but laugh at such a thought not because it makes no sense but precisely because I am failry convinced that most students have at least thought about this once.

Success is a product of concerted efforts between
and among the members of our school.

While  it is true that the success of any institution hinges on the quality of leadership that it has, much of it will be nearly impossible when it does not receive the kind of support that serves to both move an institution toward the achievement of its vision and check the balance of power within.  To say it briefly, success is a product of concerted efforts between and among members of our school.  

Through our recently concluded first week of In-Service Training, I would hope that many of the “oldies” and “newbies” come to the new school year with a better understanding of what make MIT International School tick.  

I feel like I’ve been quite floating the past few days with my bout of allergies preventing me from flashing a genuine smile.   However, I can’t help but feel excited as I see the earnest and ardent desire from my colleagues to make this coming year the best ever yet.

So many things need to be done and there may not be enough time.  However, like our country, the Philippines, I believe that, despite my Dad’s protestations, an influx of ideas, whether common sensical or not, is a welcome sign that people want to work together to achieve a goal that serves everyone and provides people with the kind of life, or in our case education, that they very much deserve.

Leave a Reply

