Lighting the Way for Others

A good teacher is like a candle – it consumes itself to light the way for others. 


I could easily relate to this quote the first time I read it.  My initial reaction was one of pride.  As a teacher, I thought this was exactly the way it should be.  I took pride in the fact that I pretty much didn’t think about myself at certain times and often gave most of my time to my work and to my kids.  I smiled even as others told me to pace myself and to take time out from time to time.

A few years later (aka today), I find myself actually questioning the veracity of the quote.  Sure, teachers should be full of passion and commitment.  Yes, it’s a must to give 101% to every single task they do.  However, is it really a must that we consume ourselves in the process?

Lately, fatigue has been one of my best friends.  She’s been visiting me regularly.  In fact, she’s with me almost everyday.  We’ve been constant pals so much so that I’ve recently failed to recognize her hanging just a wee bit too much around me.  I actually have to shoo her away.  Shoo, fatigue!

I’m feeling like the candle now, and my light is kinda turning dim.  I figure I need an extra dose of high fuel octane gas to keep me pumped for the rest of the year.  I must keep the light turned on for the kids.

Still, amid all the doubt and stress, all I can do is SMILE and give it my best shot every single day.  

2 thoughts on “Lighting the Way for Others

Leave a Reply

