School is Cool… Oh Really?

It’s finally here – the first week of the new school year.  It took some time, but it’s here nevertheless.

I’d say I’m trying to be optimistic about it. After all, they say a positive frame of mind affects the things that happen around you.  This year, we, teachers, have tried our best to give the kids all the good that we can offer based on our limited resources. I do hope they somehow will be able to appreciate our efforts.  Sometimes, I really feel like they don’t. Sigh.  They’re too young, I guess.

The new year not only brings new stresses… I bet it also brings new joys. I have a group of lovely young kids in my advisory class.  They’ve been a wee bit too quiet for the past three days, but I have a feeling things will soon turn around. I hope I get to know them as well as I could and that I could spend as much time with them as well.

I have a strong feeling. It’s going to be a BLAST. I know it will be.  Besides, as much as kids seem to project their hatred towards school, I know they secretly enjoy it. Why wouldn’t you love a place where you get to meet people who share your dreams and quirks, a venue where you can express who you are, and a second home where you feel safe and loved?

Remember kids… you may not admit it, but SCHOOL IS COOL. Really?  Really.

Leave a Reply

