Greatest Love of All – RIP Whitney

Woke up today to learn of the sad news of Whitney Houston’s passing over twitter.  My initial reaction was that of sadness as she had been one of my childhood heroes.  Then, I tune in to CNN to find out more information.  Boom. Every emotion starts to sink in.

She was incomparable.  Yes, her voice was enormous.  Yes, she had the personality of a diva. Yes, she was a pop star.  But more importantly, I believe she touched many lives.  I believe it because she touched mine.

I didn’t know her personally and in many ways, it will always be a mystery to  me how people can make such an impact on those they do not know.  All I know is, there is no way the world would be reacting the way it is now if Whitney didn’t mean anything to them.

Perhaps it was her talent that will always stick with us.  On the other hand, it could be her story and her ultimate problems with addiction and superstardom that make some people with issues relate to her.  For me, it would always be her music.

I remember how dad used to play her songs all day and how I would try to sing her songs as best I could.  I’d pretend to be like her…. singing in front of an adoring crowd.  I’d wait for her next album eagerly and memorize all her songs.  And as I grew older, one song kept resonating with me each time connecting stronger than ever before – The Greatest Love of All.

Today, I teach. Today, I try my best to inspire.  Today, I use this song as a TEACHER’S ANTHEM.  Thank you Whitney for sharing the magic of your voice to us and for bringing us the kind of music that are all timeless and universal.

THE GREATEST LOVE OF ALL

I believe the children are our future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride
To make it easier
Let the children’s laughter
Remind us how we used to be

Everybody’s searching for a hero
People need someone to look up to
I never found anyone who fulfilled my need
A lonely place to be
So I learned to depend on me

Chorus:
I decided long ago
Never to walk in anyone’s shadow
If I fail, if I succeed
At least I lived as I believe
No matter what they take from me
They can’t take away my dignity
Because the greatest love of all
Is happening to me
I found the greatest love of all inside of me
The greatest love of all
Is easy to achieve
Learning to love yourself
Is the greatest love of all

And if by chance that special place
That you’ve been dreaming of
Leads you to a lonely place
Find your strength in love

Leave a Reply

