Oh, The Irony of it All!

Today in class, we talked about irony as we discussed the short story, “The Gift of the Magi” by O’Henry.  One student pointed out the situational irony of a couple sacrificing their most important possessions to give each other gifts only to end up not being able to use the gifts because it was connected to what they had sold.  As per usual, classes ended without us having been able to accomplish all the objectives I had set for the day. Oh, the irony of it all!

You start the day with a positive attitude making yourself believe that you will hit your goals you set as you woke up.  You end the day frustrated because not only did you NOT meet your own expectations but more additional challenges also crop up along the way.  Oh, the irony of it all!

September is touted as “Teachers’ Month” by the Department of Education, Philippines.  It’s supposedly the time for students to show their appreciation for the hard work that their teachers do in order to prepare them for the future.  Well, it’s the 6th day of September and I feel uber frustrated with some of my students.  I feel like I try my best, but my best is never enough.  Perhaps, there’s really no point in appreciating us at all when we don’t appreciate ourselves, right?  Oh, the irony of it all!

I started this blog entry meaning to make sense of how tired I feel today, but I think I just made a post about stuff that have no point at all. Oh, the irony. It sucks.

Leave a Reply

