I can hear Belle’s words echoing in my head….

There must be more than this provincial life…

Of course, I’m not living in a province – far from it even.  I’m just talking about work, work and work.  Sometimes I feel like I’m simply living life to work and not working to live life.

It’s 2:30 am and I just finished preparing one of my exams.  I am sleepy and tired but I’m not even half-done with all the things I need to do. I have papers to check, visuals to prepare and so on and so forth.

I just hope I am doing some good.  I hope that these kids I teach grow up to be good people so that the world wouldn’t be the way it is now.

As it is, I am giving up a lot.  I feel guilty for not being able to go home to Manaoag to pay respects for my departed uncle.  He died of old age but he lived long enough for me to see him suffer from Alzheimer’s disease.  I want to remember him for being strong and vibrant.  I really do feel sick at the thought of not being there for his funeral but my schedule is killing me and my body hasn’t been able to cope well.  I just pray his soul will rest in peace.

I guess it’s time to go to bed now.

Leave a Reply

